29.03.13 – Hot Cross Buns and Schools of Family

Good Friday, warm hot cross buns for breakfast; and a thought on this day for all mothers that have lost children; sadly, I know several and I know they carry a grief that, even many years after the event, overwhelms; it is a grief that can never be comforted………………….

The wind has dropped, not only is it no longer biting, its strength has decreased to something rather less than a tiny nip above the hedgerows. And, as if in celebration, the tiny wood violets are poking through, at last, and the woodpeckers drumming in the woods and resounding down the valley.

The sun is shining, but it is also gently snowing, but not settling, the world and the weather have gone completely mad!

On this morning’s walk I met the old dog fox, I say old, but he might actually be quite young, he’s a big fellow, with a shiny coat and very bushy tale. I half expect him to pop up onto his hind legs, remove a top hat, and wish me ‘good morning’. He skirted Hall field and then crossed over to next door over a freshly ploughed field. I have to confess I do love seeing him, but am always faced by the same conundrum; if I tell the game keeper, it’s as likely that dozens of keepers from Sandringham and the surrounding estates will be pressed into service and will end up here clutching their twelve bores to hunt him down, especially as it’s time for the partridges and pheasants to begin breeding. If I don’t tell anyone and he decimates the breeding birds………….. But it’s a bank holiday, so he’ll live at least another day………….

The plough; rich, rich, damp earth, I feel I should add the word good. I find our farming year so, well not exactly exciting, more comforting, the way one season blends into the next, and life somehow, despite the weather and the disharmony in the world, goes on, and the good earth is worked, and gives back all our efforts tenfold. Actually, I do find it quite exciting. But I am waxing lyrical. The good earth, the fox, and the arrival this morning of my Rowan yarn order – Rowan tweed, wonderful colour tones…………..looks like my new men’s pattern will soon come to fruition

The Valbonne tunic has another completed piece, the flower one, this one took me two short evenings as there was slightly more work involved, I have pinned it out ready to block with the others.

Flower Panel

Flower Panel

Tonight I will begin piece 5 which is right in the middle of the tunic, it’s to have diagonal stripes, so I will have to decide which method I will use (Intarsia, dropping the yarn at each colour change, or taking the unused yarn along the back of the work), the latter will mean the work is double thickness and might not lie as flat as the other pieces, the former will leave me a lot of ends to sew in, decisions, decisions…………………

Yesterday I also finished the ‘water weed’ on the fish coat, and next I want to knit a whole school of tiny fishes this, I figure, I can do next week whilst the family are here.

Fish in the Weeds

Fish in the Weeds

Jobs for today then, I want to write up the rest of the pattern pieces for Valbonne. Also I want to finish a baby quilt that I have begun for dear friends, Suzanne and Tom’s little baby Ingrid. I like to make a patchwork quilt for new babies. I embroider the name, time and date of birth on it, so obviously it can’t be finished until after the baby is born. Hence there are several quilts in the making, as a lot of babies are on the way. I am thinking of selling these quilts in kit form with embroidered panel included. I guess the kits could be sent off so that the quilt can be almost made and the embroidered square sent on once the baby is born. Hmm this needs some thought………………

Grandson Marcel on his quilt

Grandson Marcel on his quilt

Eight (fruitful) hours before the French family arrive, better get moving!

This entry was posted in News, pallas designs and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 29.03.13 – Hot Cross Buns and Schools of Family

  1. Hiya, I am really glad I’ve discovered this information. These days bloggers publish just about gossips and net and this is really annoying. A good website with interesting content material, that’s what I require. Thanks for maintaining this web-site, I’ll be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Cant discover it.

Leave a Reply

